Wallis and Futuna

Malo te lava mai  / Malo le kaku mai

Located in Oceania, the islands of Wallis and Futuna are the most distant French territory of the metropolis. They are located in the South Pacific, between the Fiji Islands 280 km west of Futuna. The Samoa Islands 370 km east of Wallis and the Tonga Islands, 400 km southeast of Wallis. Remote 19,500 km from metropolitan France, 2,100 km from New Caledonia and 2,700 km from French Polynesia. Located more than 16,000 km from Paris, this French overseas territory is made up of three islands: Wallis, Futuna and Alofi. The three islands represent a total area of 139.70 km² and are populated by 11,558 inhabitants.

The Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands is an Overseas Authority whose status Act 61-814 of 1961. It is composed of the kingdoms of Uvea (Wallis), Alo and Sigave (Futuna). In 1887, the Wallis and Futuna Islands and France signed a by referendum to become an overseas territory under special status. Wallis and Futuna Islands thus become French lands while the three monarchies. Thus, the customary law of Wallis and Futuna exists in parallel to French law, traditional institutions are represented and maintain prerogatives

Flag of the Kingdom of Uvea

Flag of the Kingdom of Alo

Flag of the Kingdom of Sigave

Wallis offers a wide range of activities, but mainly nautical activities that will delight those who love the sea, especially sailing at the spot of «Vakala», the Tau’a’alo (Polynesian paddle) or diving south of the island of Wallis.

The islands of Wallis and Futuna are located near the equator and in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The result is a warm and humid climate, affected by the passage of tropical depressions.

The climate of Wallis and Futuna is humid tropical with temperatures around 30°C. The climate is very regular, with barely marked seasons. Minimum and maximum temperatures are generally ranged between 24°C and 31°C and average temperatures are always above 25.5°C.

In Wallis as in Futuna, the local currency is the Pacific Franc (XPF) as well as New Caledonia and French Polynesia with an exchange rate fixed at the Euro, the currency of France.

Members Listing

Currently In

Tahiti revises budget over Covid-19 impact

The French Polynesian assembly has approved an updated budget taking into account the measures adopted in response to the Covid-19 outbreak. Forty-nine of the 57 assembly […]

Virtual Consulting Lifeline Created to Help Struggling South Pacific Tourism Operators

                                    High profile Solomon Islands dive tourism entrepreneur, Belinda Botha […]

  • Translate Page »